Code administrator Elexon has announced it has appointed two non-executive directors to its board.

Following a series of interviews Sara Vaughan, political and regulatory affairs director at Eon, and David Titterton who is energy services director at Npower, took up their roles yesterday (6 March).

The pair replace Volker Beckers and Alison Chappell as industry non-executive directors.

The Elexon board is required by the Balancing and Settlement Code (BSC) to comprise mainly of non-executive directors who have industry experience and at least two non-executive directors who must be independent of the industry.

Vaughan began her career as a lawyer at Slaughter and May before moving to Powergen (as it then was) as a competition lawyer.

She has subsequently taken on a number of additional responsibilities such as regulation, compliance, energy policy, and external affairs including corporate and social responsibility, legal and company secretariat, health, safety security and environment and engineering governance.

She was formerly a public member of Network Rail and is on the CBI West Midlands Regional Council. Vaughan is a member of the cross-industry Thriving at Work Leadership Council and a fellow of the Energy Institute.

Formerly an engineer, Titterton has more than 34 years of experience in the energy sector.

His current responsibilities include the company-wide smart programme – a technology investment, the rollout of more than four million smart meters and delivery of the Energy Company Obligation.

In addition, he is leading a complete transformation of the energy services business unit, focused on process and cultural improvements.

Speaking of his appointment he said: “I’m delighted to be joining the Elexon board, it’s a great business with a key role to play in helping shape the rapidly changing UK energy market.

“I’m looking forward to being part of the team determining the strategy and future direction.”

The Elexon board now comprises of:

  • Michael Gibbons – chair
  • Mark Bygraves – chief executive
  • Sara Vaughan – industry non-executive director
  • David Titterton – industry non-executive director
  • Clare Duffy – industry non-executive director
  • David Rigney – non-executive director
  • Anne Heal – non-executive director

Speaking in response to the appointments, chair Michael Gibbons, said: “I’m delighted to welcome Sara and David to the board.

“They both bring extensive industry experience with them, which will be highly valuable. I’m sure their understanding of the industry will help us in tackling the challenges ahead.

“I’d also like to thank Volker Beckers and Alison Chappell who have retired from the board for their valuable and diligent work over the years.

“Both Volker and Alison have made major contributions in directing Elexon’s efforts to serve the energy industry and consumers. We thank them for their service.”

What to read next