Entries open for new-look Utility Week Awards

The Utility Week Awards are back, with eight new or re-imagined categories, added benefits to entering and a simplified entry process.

Entries open on Tuesday (23 May) across 16 categories, including the highly-coveted Utility of the Year, with the winners set to be revealed at London’s Grosvenor House on 5 December.

New categories include a Rising Star award, ESG Initiative of the Year and Built Environment Partner. This year sees two net zero categories, reflecting the key role of decarbonisation across all aspects of utilities’ business models, and a dedicated focus on skills and diversity.

The entry process has also undergone a complete refresh, with a simplified entry process, more exposure than ever and the chance to access winners’ community benefits.

James Wallin, Utility Week editor and chair of the judges, said: “The Utility Week Awards 2023 invites best-in-class examples of what a public service ethos means in 2023, from maximising the opportunities of data and digitalisation to promoting diversity, putting social and environmental goals at the heart of decision-making and developing new ways of supporting customers and decarbonising the UK.

“Across the country, individuals and teams at utilities companies are showing dedication and initiative to keep the country connected and build a better future. We look forward to recognising these successes.”

The entry deadline is 7 September. Find out more about how to enter here.

Full list of categories:

NEW: Built Environment Partner of the Year Award

NEW: Carbon Reduction Award 

Collaborative Excellence Award

NEW: Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) Initiative of the Year Award

Customer Experience Award

Cost of Living Award

Digital Transformation Award

NEW: Infrastructure Delivery Award

Innovation Award

NEW: Net Zero Engagement Award

NEW: Rising Star of the Year Award

NEW: Skills and Diversity Award Expand

Team of the Year Award

NEW: Unlocking Data Award

Utility Partner of the Year Award

Utility of the Year Award