The first Electricity Market Reform (EMR) panel of technical experts has been appointed by the Department of Energy and Climate Change (Decc).

The four members of the panel will provide independent scrutiny of the analysis which will inform the government’s first EMR delivery plan.

The chair of the panel is Dr Norma Wood, who led the strategic review of trading and settlement arrangements post privatisation. She has also worked with the Ministry of Defence, the Treasury, and the Office for National Statistics.

The other members of the panel are: Dr Guy Doyle, who has led Mott MacDonald’s work on generation costing and long term power sector trends for Decc; Professor David Newbery, who is a member of Ofgem’s Low Carbon Networks Fund and the deputy independent member of the single electricity market of Ireland; and Andris Banksovskis, who has 25 years’ experience in electricity generation, supply and regulation.

Energy secretary Ed Davey said: “The experts that we have on this panel will help us to ensure the analysis that informs the EMR delivery plan is as robust as possible, allowing us to achieve out ambitions and ensure value-for-money for taxpayers.”

The first EMR delivery plan will be published in draft form in July 2013 for a public consultation and in final form by the end of the year.