Ofgem announces senior appointments as part of restructure

Energy regulator Ofgem has announced the appointment of three directors as part of its new corporate structure.

Last year Ofgem set out in its strategic narrative that it needed to move towards a more “efficient, flatter leadership structure”.

The new structure, which goes live today (10 August), will see director, network price controls Akshay Kaul promoted to director of networks while interim executive director of systems and networks Cathryn Scott becomes director of enforcement and emerging issues.

Philippa Pickford, who was director of future retail markets, becomes director of retail.

Elsewhere the regulator’s director of conduct and enforcement, consumers and markets, Anthony Pygram, has decided to step down after nine years at Ofgem. He will be leaving later this year.

Meanwhile Frances Warburton, director, energy system transition, systems and networks, will also leave later in 2020 after six years.

To replace Warburton, Ofgem is seeking a director of energy systems management and security. The regulator added that it is now seeking to fill two other vacant roles:

  • Director of communications
  • Director of analysis and assurance

Ofgem said the following roles remain unchanged:

  • Director of E-Serve, Trish Dreghorn
  • Interim director of corporate services, Steph Broadribb (interim)
  • Director of strategy and decarbonisation, Neil Kenward
  • General counsel, Euan McVicar

Last month Utility Week revealed that Ofgem’s executive director of consumers and markets Mary Starks would be leaving her role after nearly two years.