Utilities leaders make up nine of the names featured on this year’s Queen’s birthday honours list.

Former Committee on Climate Change chief executive David Kennedy, who left the organisation last year, has been awarded a CBE for services to the environment.

Waterwise managing director and chair of the water resilience taskforce Jacob Tompkins has been awarded an OBE for services to water efficiency.

The Department of Energy and Climate Change’s (Decc) deputy director of science and innovation and head of science David Warrilow, has also been awarded an OBE for services to science.

His colleague Taryn Khanam who was named as a Medallist of the Order of the British Empire (BEM) for services to diversity in government and the Bengali community in East London.

Oil and Gas Authority senior geoscientist Antoinette Harvey received an OBE for services to energy development.

OBE’s were also awarded to Energy Saving Trust director Scotland and Scottish Power Foundation chair Michael Thornton for services to economic growth and the environment, and to former Centrica and British Gas director Andrew Bacon for services to business and the economy.

An OBE for services to renewable energy, particularly in Northern Ireland, was awarded to B9 Energy Group director David Surplus, while Clare Lukehurst received an OBE for services to the anaerobic digestion industry.

What to read next