Entries now open for Flex Awards

Entries are now open for the Flex AwardsUtility Week’s new celebration of the individuals, teams and organisations pioneering energy flexibility.

These brand new awards form part of a wider Utility Week content programme supporting this emerging market.

Winners will be selected via an independent judging process and presented at a ceremony held at Utility Week Live 2024, at Birmingham’s NEC on 21 May.

Utility Week portfolio director Ellen Bennett said: “Net zero cannot happen without flexible energy – it’s as simple as that. Market makers, regulators and industry pioneers are working together to create an active flexibility market in the UK – but there are significant challenges ahead. Utility Week is delighted to play our part and support the emerging energy flexibility market with the launch of a new awards ceremony.

“The Flex Awards will recognise the pioneers and disruptors who are paving the way for energy flexibility to be rolled out. We will be showcasing the latest innovations, celebrating successes and unearthing the companies and individuals who are driving flex markets and end user engagement.”

The Flex Awards are the flagship for a wider programme of content supporting the emerging energy flexibility market. This will be a major focus for Utility Week Live 2024, 21-22 May, NEC, Birmingham, with a dedicated stage, content programme and facilitated networking opportunities. In addition, Utility Week has launched a new monthly newsletter covering the energy flexibility market, and a dedicated networking group.

Bennett added: “The energy flexibility market needs proper frameworks and incentives to become a reality, as well as proof of concept projects delivered at scale. Utility Week is committed to supporting that, by celebrating and sharing best practice and bringing together the energy flexibility community to articulate their needs and work with regulators and policymakers to deliver.

Categories at the Flex Awards include:

  • Best I&C initiative
  • Best domestic flexibility proposition
  • Best whole system flexibility
  • Best innovation in energy flexibility
  • Best use of energy flexibility data
  • Flexibility service provider of the year
  • Energy network of the year
  • Flexibility pioneer of the year

To enter the awards, visit www.flexawards.co.uk