New categories added for 2023 Water Industry Awards

This year’s Water Industry Awards include a new category celebrating energy management achievements as well as a dedicated leakage award.

Joining the Energy in Water and Leakage awards as new entrants for 2023 is the Engineer Consultancy category, as well as the return of Water Retailer of the Year

In total, there are 21 categories to enter, with a deadline of 3 March, including the flagship Water Company of the Year. Find out more here.

The winners will be unveiled on Wednesday, 29 June at The Vox, Birmingham, where the whole industry will meet to celebrate the outstanding work of UK water companies and their supply chains.

Utility Week editor and chair of the judging panel James Wallin said: “We’re delighted to launch the Water Industry Awards 2023, to celebrate the achievements of water companies and their partners over the past year. 2022 brought a raft of challenges as the water industry hunkered down for the cost of living crisis and faced up to the scale of the task around cleaning up pollution. But through it all, the hard work and dedication of the teams and individuals who make up our industry shone through – as demonstrated by the incredible entries we received.

“New categories for this year include the Engineering Consultancy Award, celebrating the amazing engineering that sits behind the industry’s infrastructure; the Energy in Water Award , showcasing the ingenuity with which companies are tackling the huge cost of energy they face; the Leakage Award,  demonstrating how far the industry has come on this critical issue; and the return of the Water Retailer of the Year Award, representing this often-overlooked arm of the industry.”

Full list of categories

  • Alliance or Partnership of the Year
  • Asset Management Initiative of the Year
  • Contractor of the Year
  • Customer Initiative of the Year
  • Digitalisation Project of the Year
  • Diversity & Inclusion Initiative of the Year
  • Drinking Water Initiative of the Year
  • Energy in Water Award
  • Engineering Consultancy of the Year
  • Groundbreaker Award
  • Health & Safety Initiative of the Year
  • Leakage Initiative
  • Natural Capital Initiative of the Year
  • Net Zero Carbon Initiative of the year
  • Pollution Mitigation Initiative of the Year
  • Rising Star of the Year
  • Smart Water Networks Award
  • Wastewater Innovation Project of the Year
  • Water Efficiency Project of the Year
  • Water Retailer of the Year
  • Water Company of the Year

You can see the criteria for entry here.