Thames Water has appointed two new non-executive directors – David Waboso and John Morea – as its board restructure nears completion.

Waboso is a chartered engineer and experienced project manager who has led major infrastructure programmes in the UK and overseas, including London’s Jubilee Line extension. He retires from Network Rail in March, where he is currently the managing director, Digital Railway, and joins as an independent non-executive director.

Meanwhile, Morea – currently chief executive of gas network company SGN – has more than 30 years’ experience in the utility sector. He was until recently a non-executive director of Associated British Ports and was previously a director of the Energy Networks Association.

Thames is currently going through a major review of its corporate structure and governance, in an effort to boost transparency.

The company has pledged to have a majority of independent non-executive directors on its board by the end of the review.

Today’s announcement follows the recent appointment of independent non-executive directors Alistair Buchanan, Jill Shedden and Catherine Lynn.

As part of the changes, Deirdre Hutton stepped down as an independent non-executive director on 31 January after eight years’ service, and Guy Lambert left the board on 28 January after four years.

Thames Water chairman Ian Marchant said: “Thames Water has been going through a period of unprecedented change, as we realign the business to build a better future for our customers and the environment. I’d like to thank Dame Deirdre and Guy for their service and welcome David and John to the company.

“They bring proven world-class skills in infrastructure and network management, innovation and digital transformation, which will help us deliver the modern and high-quality water network our customers rightly expect.”